Glorious warm autumn sunshine welcomed scores of members at Monmouth Golf Club as they gathered for the annual awards presentation day to recognise and honour the winners of the club’s competitions played throughout the year, reports ROB PILOT.

The course was in fantastic condition despite October’s record rainfall, and the hard work undertaken by the greens staff Chris, Matt, and Dave, under the guidance of Chair of Greens Len Lane, was appreciated by all.

The day on Saturday, November 12, began with mixed teams of four playing a fun 12-hole Texas Scramble, with nearest the pin prizes on the par-3 holes included, followed by a wonderful lunch prepared by Emma Henry and her bar-staff team.

Club chairman Alan “Partridge” Cairns compered proceedings, inviting club president Mike Hatch to present the trophies to the individual winners, with the magnificent silverware on display made resplendent by Marion Workman.

Notable Men’s Section winners saw champion golfer Alistair Morgan pick up both the prestigious Presidents Cup and Scratch Cup.

Men’s captain Robbie Williams and his partner Malcolm Jones won the Cock of the North, while other winners included Bruce Kennedy, Neil James, Jonathan Davies, James Barrell, Alan Cairns, Russell Giblin, Gareth Roberts, Mike Pryce, Keith Robertshaw, Dave Teague, Rob Shearer, Rob Laurie, Paul Swingwood, Len Lane, Mark Morris and Jeremy Cleaves.

Amongst the Men’s Seniors Section, winners included Bruce Brain, Maurice Pell, Keith James, Garth Lamb, Mark Thornycroft, Trevor Knight, Claude Dubé and Dave Wilding.

The Mixed Team Curtis Cup was won by Brenda Wills, Neil James, and Aaron Mills, whilst the Ladies Section saw their captain Mary Woollard raise the Spring Cup.

Other winners included Pauline Rogers, Barbara Davies, Marion Workman, Pat Phillips, Brenda Wills, Marjorie Kimberley, and Ann Jones.

A club spokesperson said Monmouth Golf Club is truly the “Jewel in the Hills” and “undoubtedly, the prettiest course in Wales”.

It has flexible membership options available to all, for both new and existing players.

For details, visit www.mon